Notoane Names U23 Preliminary Squad

National U23 coach David Notoane has named his preliminary squad for this month’s key CAF U23 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against Congo.

South Africa will host Congo in Johannesburg on the 23rd of March, with the away leg set to be played in Brazzaville four days later.

The winner of the tie will qualify for the finals tournament in Morocco, which is scheduled for June this year. The top three teams at the Afcon will qualify for the Olympics.

South Africa battled past Togo to reach this point, pulling off a 2-2 away draw before a goalless result back on home soil saw them qualify via the away goals rule.

Meanwhile, Congo surprised many by ousting Tunisia in the last round.

The preliminary squad selected below:


Lincoln VYVER Cape Town Spurs FC (SA) 

Ephraim MOTHIBHEDI All Stars FC (SA)         

Olwethu MZIMELA Amazulu FC (SA) 

Bontle MOLEFE Kaizer Cheifs (FC)


Athenkosi MCABA Stellenbosch FC (SA) 

Omega MDAKA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA) 

Bradley CROSS Maritzburg Utd FC (SA) 

Rushwin DORTLEY Cape Town Spurs FC (SA) 

Siyanda MSANI Richard’s Bay FC (SA) 

Kegan JOHANNES SuperSport Utd FC (SA) 

Olwethu MAKHANYA Stellenbosch FC (SA) 

Khaya MFECANE  Cape Town Spurs FC (SA)


Jayden ADAMS Stellenbosch FC (SA) 

Samkelo ZWANE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA) 

Puso DITHEJANE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA) 

Christos RETSOS Aris Petroupolis FC (GREECE) 

Ntando NKOSI Mamelodi Sundowns FC

Ethan BROOKSAmazulu FC (SA) 

Devin TITUS Stellenbosch FC (SA) 

Rowan HUMAN Maritzburg United FC (SA) 

Kgaugelo CHAUKE Exeter City FC (ENGLAND)


Ashley CUPIDO Cape Town Spurs FC (SA) 

Boitumelo RADIOPANE Cape Town Spurs FC (SA) 

Antonio Van Wyk Stellenbosch FC (SA) 

Oswin APPOLLIS Pretoria Callies FC (SA) 

Mduduzi SHABALALA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA) 

Thapelo MASEKO SuperSport Utd FC (SA) 


Yanela MBUTHUMA Richard’s Bay FC (SA)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.
Generated by Feedzy